New HCA Board Directors Elected The 151 HCA voting members who cast ballots in the 2023 election returned incumbent Martha McGill to the HCA Board of Directors and also chose Jim Cooke and James Warren. All three will serve four-year terms on the 12-member board. They were sworn into office during the HCA Annual Meeting June 17, immediately following the election.  Thanks to candidate Russ Reopell for his willingness to run for the board. During the Annual Meeting, HCA President Suzanne Parker presented a certificate of appreciation to McGill for having completed her first four-year term of office. She also thanked outgoing board members Emie Heisey and Geoff Heisey for their service. Emie had served two terms; Geoff had served one.  Vote totals:
  • Jim Cooke 94
  • Martha McGill 101
  • Russ Reopell 70
  • James Warren 82

Amendment Failed Voters turned down the proposed amendment to the Constitution and Bylaws that would have eliminated the voting membership category, thus allowing all HCA members to vote without having first paid the one-time $25 voting member fee. Of the 145 votes on the amendment, 83 were in favor (57.2%), 62 opposed. This fell short of the two-thirds majority vote necessary for approval of an amendment.
Board Officers Selected The Board of Directors met June 25 in its annual reorganization meeting to select officers for the year. They are:
  • President Suzanne Parker
  • Vice President Frachele Scott
  • Secretary Mary Olson
  • Treasurer Caleb Files
Charlie Wade will continue to serve as Immediate Past President.